Board Members

You are here

SAMPE Benelux chapter

Bart Vangrimde

Bart graduated as Electromechanical Engineer at KU Leuven Group T (Belgium). A PhD in Mechanical Engineering at the Ecole Polytechnique of Montreal (Canada) started his career in research and technology development of composite materials. Bart performed postdoctoral research at KU Leuven Materials Engineering Department (2001-2004), led the advanced composites materials & process engineering group at SONACA (2004-2009) and started the Sirris Leuven-Gent Composites Application Lab (2009-2011). Since 2011 Bart is the technical manager for composites at Huntsman Polyurethanes.

Adrie Kwakernaak

Technical University Delft

Ariean Koelewijn
Board member


Ruben Sevenois

Ruben graduated as Aerospace engineer at Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands) in 2013. He is working as Doctor-Assistant at the Department of Materials, Textiles and Chemical Engineering at Ghent University working to improve structural simulation and mechanical testing of composite structures. With 3 publications as first author and 5 publications as co-author Ruben is continuously working to become an expert in material simulation and composite analysis.

Ferrie van Hattum
Coördinator student contest

Ferrie van Hattum studied Mechanical Engineering at the University of Twente, where he graduated in the field of thermoplastic composites (1995). He holds a PhD (1999) in Polymer and Composites Engineering of the University of Minho, Portugal. Since 2013, Ferrie van Hattum is a professor at Saxion University of Applied Sciences, Enschede, The Netherlands. He is leading the ThermoPlastic composites Application Center – TPAC, that focusses on making thermoplastic composites work cost-effectively for SMEs.

Aart van Vuure
University Contacts

KU Leuven

Julie Teuwen
Board member

Julie Teuwen graduated as an Aerospace Engineer at Delft University of Technology. She holds a PhD in the field of liquid moulding of thermoplastic wind turbine blades at Delft University. After obtaining her PhD, Julie worked as a materials and production process engineer at a wind turbine blade design and manufacturing company. She is an assistant professor at the department of Aerospace Structures and Materials within the faculty of Aerospace Engineering of Delft University of Technology since 2016.

Pierre Severin
Member of the board

Pierre Severin graduated as an Aerospace Engineer at University of Liège, with bachelor at University of Mons and Erasmus exchange at ENSMA in Poitiers, France. Pierre performed his master’s thesis on the study of shockwave propagation in solid-state stain samples. He is working since 2007 at Coexpair, as engineering team leader, on the development of aeronautic parts made with RTM & SQRTM processes.

Olivier Bottler
Member of the board

Oliver Bottler graduated as chemical engineer at the university of applied science in Aachen (Germany) and made his second graduation as chemist at university of Saarbrücken (Germany). Both diploma thesis he made at DuPont in Luxemburg in Mylar® R&D department. Oliver was production leader in the textile industry and head of process engineering at the Institute of New Materials (INM) in Saarbrücken in the field of nanotechnology. Oliver worked at Euro-Composites S.A. as R&D Manger and is working since 2011 at Airtech Europe Sarl. in Differdange Luxemburg as European Technical Manager.

Henri Perrin

Henri Perrin is new board member since 2020.

Mark Muilwijk

Mark is new member since 2020


The Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering (SAMPE) is an international organization devoted to the promotion of technical excellence in material and process engineering, totaling more than 4000 engineers, technologists and materials scientists.